Monday, 7 September, 13:30 - 15:00

A session for graduate students, postdocs and group leaders interested in research opportunities in India organised by IndiaBioScience & WellcomeTrust/DBT India Alliance. Find out about setting up your laboratory in India, or moving to India for a post-doc. Speakers will leading life scientists from India, and representatives from funding agencies.

Each session will be of ten minutes duration, followed by a question-answer session. They will deal with various aspects of Opportunities in India, life and careers in India. A panel of funding agency representatives and scientists will present short perspectives on obtaining funding for Indo-European and Indian research as well as on careers in India. For further interaction, you could also visit the IndiaBioscience/ India Alliance Booth at the conference between 6-8 September. 

Details on registration for the session will follow.

Chair: Dr. Nandini Rajamani Robin, IndiaBioScience,
Co-chair: Dr. Shahid Jameel, Wellcome Trust DBT India Alliance

Opportunities in India for the Life Sciences.
Dr. Nandini Rajamani Robin, IndiaBioScience

India Alliance Program: Grants for young scientists.
Dr. Shahid Jameel, Wellcome Trust DBT India Alliance

Emerging opportunities in India
Dr. K VijayRaghvan, Secretary DBT (on Skype)

The changing research and teaching scenario in India
Dr. LS Shashidhara

Schemes from DBT and DST

EMBO - India-Europe links and opportunities

Euraxess Links - a vital resource

- Other speakers will include representatives from funding agencies in India, as well as junior and senior scientists and administrators.



The Wellcome Trust/DBT India Alliance is pleased to announce Travel Awards to the following for attending the EMBO meeting scheduled to be held in Birmingham, UK between 5-8 September 2015. The following will receive travel support:


  Application ref First Name Last Name Institution
1 1528 Uzma Saqib Indian Institute of Technology, Indore
2 1533 Mirza Saqib Baig Indian Institute of Technology, Indore
3 1540 Swarnendra Singh National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi
4 1572 Abhinita Borah Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
5 1588 Manika Kargeti Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
6 1591 Yasir Khan  
7 1598 Alok Pandey CIMAP, Lucknow
8 1623 Arun Prakash Mishra CCMB, Hyderabad
9 1632 Thangaselvam Muthusamy NCBS, Bangalore

Bookmark and Share